Monday morning, y’all.

It’s Monday morning out here on the West Coast, and it’s a special Real Estate edition.

Here’s what peeves me:

This weekend, Jeff and I looked at apartments. It was not our original weekend plan–he had a weekend off, and we were going to laze around and enjoy ourselves. But looking casually Friday night led to two full days of hunting. 8 apartments later, and I am a little disheartened. Of course, there were things we loved about each ones, and things that we hated. I think we whittled down a list, however, and finally know what we want:

*sunshine, and lots of it

*windows (to help with above said need)

*Air conditioning, because a year without it was NOT fun

*PARKING (This is one of the most important)

*more than a walk-in-closet sized kitchen

*bathroom that isn’t “old” or cracked or otherwise gross. (Jeff also is not keen on weirdly tiled sink, a commonplace in some places here)

*hardwood floors (I hate carpets, and Jeff also hates them from the dining area, and its seemingly all or nothing here)

*A landlord/manager ON SITE that speaks impeccable English. (We’ve have difficulties in the past.)

*something NOT on a hill, as Jeff DOES bike to work, and would be very appreciative if he could get to and from work in ease.

That being said, we’re looking mainly in the Los Feliz and Franklin Village areas, so we might not get lucky with the hill…We’ll see. Meanwhile, things we do not want:

*carpet

*a parking space that is exposed (Jeff worries about dings)

*A place that doesn’t pay water/trash (common place in LA, and some apartments we saw yesterday didn’t have the basics)

*a ground level apartment

*something too far from the 101

*A spot in an apartment complex with lots of children and/or college students

Also, we have created a “things that would be nice” column:

*A place that has an area to store a bicycle

*A pool

*An option for a second parking spot

*A bathtub and a shower without a door but rather a rod.

Any suggestions? Ideas for us? LA is a scary place to find an apartment, but I am confident it’s out there.

Advertisements

About sorellaaglio

I am 26. I love nature. I love trying new things, and I love children. I love cooking, baking, and sometimes even cleaning. I am an organized mess, and yet manage to eat three meals a day and get eight hours of sleep a night. If you stop by, I'll feed you and make you a mixed CD. Oh, and I am a fan of you.
This entry was posted in Letting off steam and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s